Really late to the game -- ordered all the supplies

BrandonD

I've been toying around with woodworking for a couple years and would really like to get serious with it. I've never had a proper bench and I've done all of my work with my outfeed table. I've seen the Roubo in use and decided a while ago that's the route I wanted to take. Now I've pulled some triggers and am gearing up to get started.

I purchased the Benchcrafted bench package yesterday. I went with the traditional "C" style -- I couldn't justify spending an extra $150 just for a polished look. After getting quotes from lumber yards around here (soft maple), I decided to get the bench package from Bell Forest as it's about $200 in savings from the cheapest option here -- and their selection was minimal. I just ordered it today.

I've got to say I was and still am anxious about purchasing lumber online. It's my first time doing so, and it's quite a purchase. Researching them and emailing back and forth with Eric eased my mind some. He's been friendly and very helpful, so I think this will end up as a positive experience.

Can't wait to get started. I'll have the lumber in 1.5 weeks, the vises are advertised to be shipped in "3-4 weeks"... I suggested Eric show Benchcrafted how to ship things since they're able to send a pallet full of wood across the county in half the time it takes Benchcrafted to ship a little bit of iron!  :lol:

Thanks for the welcome and good luck with your build. It sounds like that might be the case with Benchcrafted, it's just amusing to think about a pallet of 8' long boards making it across country long before it ships. 

Oh well, I'm sure I can have some fun with the lumber before needing the vise hardware.  :)

Don't let Richard scare you...he's confused.  Despite me being famous and highly regarded here on this forum, somehow there are other people in the world who still insist upon using the same name.