Hello from Woodstock, Georgia

FtrPilot

My name is Randy...I live in Woodstock, Georgia, northwest of Atlanta. I am fully retired and playing through life. I spent 20 years in the Air Force, most of that flying F-4 Phantoms.  After the Air Force, I spent 19 years in the defense industry, in a variety of positions. The last 8 years, I was a program manager.  Throughout both careers, I travelled the globe. I have lived in the UK, South Korea, Thailand, and numerous states (Texas, Arizona, Utah, North Carolina, Virginia, Florida, and Georgia), and have travelled extensively in the US, Europe, Canada, and India.  After I retired, my wife and I took a 46 day vacation to New Zealand and Australia...had a fabulous time.

My active interests include golf, trout fishing (mostly in Wisconsin), bird hunting, trap/skeet/sporting clays, and woodworking. I am relatively new to woodworking, about 3 years. I started in a friend's basement, building wall cabinets for my garage. I had so much fun, I decided to accumulate tools and set up my own shop.  Unfortunately, I don't have a basement, so my shop is in my garage and severely space limited.

My current woodworking project is a Benchcrafted Split-Top Roubo, which is why I joined the forum.  In the next couple of days, I plan to start a thread in that section of the forum, to describe my project, and solicit advice.

Welcome Randy, and thanks for being one of America's finest and thanks for that!  I'm envious of your next build, if I built that for my shop, I wouldn't be able to enter the place, it's smaller than a one car garage... But I'm going to enjoy your build.

Sounds like you've lived an interesting life, Randy.  Good to have you aboard.  Tee hee...see what I did there?

A number of us have built the Roubo, myself included, and several others always seem to be building at any given time.  Don't hesitate to ask questions.

P.S. Far out, man.  Woodstock is groovy.  I thought it was in New York, though. :unsure: