modern bookcase design - would like sanity check

pdm

Hi,

I am building a library system for my house. I have done this sort of thing before but this is my first attempt to do with unpainted wood and the design is a little different and larger than I have done in the past. The plan is to use walnut plywood for the cases and solid walnut for nosing. This is going to be a lot of money just in plywood so I hoped to get some feedback before I started to see if I am barking up the wrong tree or something. 

We have somewhat limited space so I making the cases fairly high (about 10')  The plan is to make multiple smaller cases and attach them 2 stacked vertically and also side by side using cabinet connectors (from McFeely's)  to attach them together. All the basic cases will be the same in my idea but I will flip them around top to bottom and round. The sides and shelves are double thick but left 3/4" on the sides that will attach to the other bookcase. . One hang strip on bottom and one hang strip on top positioned so they aren't visible really at normal viewing. The cases will sit on top of a little box 6" tall that gets them above the wall trim.

We are going for a sort of modern design, with no back panel and thick shelves with a face frame that has no overlap and full 1.5" thick shelves.  I am very inspired by "Lee" from Leebuild.com. http://leebuild.com/projects/walnut-bookshelf-wall

So questions!  

• The way I have it done now there will be exposed plywood at the very top from the side pieces. Is this normal? Maybe I should make the top/bottom layers be solid wood. 
  • I'm not sure how to attach the face frame. I want it to be flush but i'm unsure how to accomplish that on the inside corners. Maybe I can flush trim or sand in most areas but in the corners I would use a chisel to avoid it being rounded.
  • Does anything else look foolish here?