Help me get a basic jump start on woodworking!

Econdron

Alright I've got a welding, machining, and general fabrication shop that I've been running for the last 10 years or so. Probably 1/3 of my annual sales are making table frames, table legs, and other furniture frames for COMMERCIAL woodworking shops. So these are shops that are taking my frames, slapping a slab of wood on top and selling a finished product with much more profit than I make. So with things relatively slow right now, I'm looking to expand my capabilities/product line and jump in on this "finished product" market. 

So I'm wanting to start slow, and grow into it. I REALLY don't like the idea of welding, and sawdust so I'll be setting up a separate, preferably enclosed, space for the wood working. So for now, I'm looking for advice on the following:

1) I'll be starting with table tops. Coffee tables, kitchen tables, end tables, etc and probably benches to go with the kitchen tables. What options should I offer in terms of material? Reclaimed lumber seems to be the big hype with most of my customers. Opinions?

2) In addition to materials, what about the finish? What are some popular stains (or no stain), and what about polys? 

3) Remember space is limited right now, so what should I start with in terms of tooling? I have a small table saw, circular saw, jig saw, drill presses , and palm sander. Is a planer/jointer necessary? Is a belt sander helpful?