Amateur Hour

N00b-in-training

So... I'm just getting started with Hand Planes and have yet to actually use one more than playing around. Well, today I found a great use for my first productive use. 

The decking under the screen door on our deck has raised, or more likely I miss-hung the door last year when I built the screen porch, and has been catching when you open the door. It seems significant enough that it would take a ton of work to sand it down so I turned to my newly purchased low jack plane. Things were going great and chips were flying. Then came the last few passes.... I got low enough that I found a few nails. 

Off to the sharpening station, in build, to get ride of the nicks in the blade. #amateurhour

post-14998-0-39663000-1427800498_thumb.j

At least you broke the seal, so to speak. I had mine several weeks, and like you, I piddled with it, nothing productive. Then, like you, I needed to remove more wood than a pack of sandpaper could provide. Now I go to it more than I ever would have imagined. And after halfway learning to put an edge on it, that thing is darn fun to use!

• Like 1

So... I'm just getting started with Hand Planes and have yet to actually use one more than playing around. Well, today I found a great use for my first productive use. 

Me too...I would also include chisels and hand saws.  One of the reasons I am building a Roubo is for woodworking with hand tools.

Things were going great and chips were flying. Then came the last few passes.... I got low enough that I found a few nails.

A metal detector is a much better way to find the nails, screws, or other metal objects.

Here's an inexpensive one that works quite well.

http://www.highlandwoodworking.com/littlewizardiimetaldetector.aspx

I use a strong ball shaped magnet, roll it over a board or wall and it stops over every nail or screw. K&J magnetics has a good selection, I use a 5/8 sphere N52 magnet.