Electricity

Kazi Kuni

I'm about to build my first real workshop! I am building it in 1/4 of my fatherinlaws barn. It will be about 1000sqft. It looks like the original meter outside is bringing in a 200 amp service. Then it splits and sends power over to another barn from there supplying 60amps to that barns panel. My question is if I can run another 100 amp sub panel up stairs for the shop or should I have more power directed to the shop? I'll be running 110 and 220 equipment.

I'm no electrician, but I don't see why not.  What sort of consumption is there in the other barn?  you really only need to worry if all the 'loads' are in use at the same time.   200A is a lot of juice, and a 100A subpanel to a shop is also a lot of juice unless you're also running electric heat.   I'd suggest laying out your shop and equipment and having an electrician give you an idea on what is or is not feasible.  

I am no electrician...but in my line of thinking you should be fine with even less than 100 AMPs. The amperage will only matter for what you are running at the same time. (I.e. Table saw, dust collector, lights, stereo, etc.) The big thing to think about would be the amperage of the breakers in the subpanel. Just depends what all you would be running I guess.

I highly recommend that you find a qualified, licensed electrician to do this work for you. Building codes aside, you don't want to risk fire or personal injury from improperly installed electrical systems.

Having said that, I can say you should certainly be safe from a load standpoint. However, when you are adding up the total load on the incoming line, remember to look at the amps required by each piece of equipment, not the amp rating of the breaker feeding the equipment.