My new Bad Axe Stiletto

Madkrafter

So I'm heading back to Chicago to visit family and I signed up for Jeff Miller's dovetail class. I've been a woodworker for... :unsure: ...I'm in my 3rd decade. I just never got into making dovetails. I wanted to start building some nice furniture again and thought this class would be a good primer and inspiration.

I thought that the class might supply the tools, but I was wrong (don't know why I was thinking that). Coming from out of state, I'll have to ship my tools.

Anyway, since I have my trusty old set of Marples chisels, my first priority was the saw. I've had an ear open to the different makers and really debated over spending big money on a saw. I emailed Mark Harrell because I was looking for a Battle Scar but they get swooped up quick and I'll be leaving for Chicago at the end of April, so I don't have time to order a custom one.

I got an email back in no time. He was working on a 12" Stiletto that could be shipped out the next day! (talk about great service!) Right there, I decided that I was buying myself my May Birthday present!

Bad%20Axe%20Stiletto-02.jpg

Now I just have to get all of the "other" dovetail "stuff" that I've never acquired in all the years I've been doing this hobby.

==>Hard Maple

Yea, not an easy practice material…

How about something like this to practice: Get a couple sticks of Poplar – mill it to 7/16 leaving components wide and long enough to made several representative drawers. Say 12 of 5”x12” x 7/16 Poplar.

My big problem was figuring where I f’ed-up… So I decided to take ½ the joint out of the equation: