First design - mission inspired tv stand

leitefrog

Hi gang

I have been wanting to create a tv stand for my 40" flat screen for a year now, and I've taken the first step and started to put things down on paper. Well, sketchup actually. I'm starting to get that hang of sketchup, but I know I've got a long way to go yet. I want to have a space across the top for the center speaker, the doors under that for the equipment. The drawing doesn't have any of the holes in the back for wires and heat exchange, but that's because I'm not very good at getting sketchup to make holes consistently. :) The only thing about this design is, I have to leave the doors open because of the remote controls. One thought is to replace the panels in the door with smoked glass rather than wood.

To start with, how's my design, and second, what would you do about the doors?

-George Leite

tv cabinet.skp

post-2559-0-30609800-1290392275_thumb.jp

The design looks nice. i only looked at the picture since I don't have SketchUp on this machine. For the remote, there are so many remote eyes that you can buy. Basically it's a tiny receiver you can easily hide (think smaller than a lapel mic) on the stand with a long wire that goes to a broadcast box that will repeat the remote signals seen inside the cabinet. If the doors are open, everything still works. I haven't used one of those repeaters so I can't vouch for how well they do their trickery, but my plan may require one as well.

I built an A/V cabinet awhile ago and posted some pictures on flickr. Unfortunately I never showed the final product, which does have closed doors and a removable panel on the side (to hide the wires).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/michael_ws_morton/sets/72157618207781887/

I used an IR repeater to bring in the signals into the cabinet, just as Paul refers to. It was Hot Link Pro found on amazon here: http://www.amazon.co...90450095&sr=8-5 Works fine, no problems.