Question about building a Farmhouse style table:

I am building a large farmhouse style table.  The ends of the table will be a breadboard style and some previous blogs and videos at woodwhisper have helped me understand how construct these.  However, I am uncertain about how expansion will impact the central field of the table.  On each edge, I am using 8/4 hickory to give the appearance  that the entire table is 2" thick but in between the 8/4 hickory I will use 4/4, in order to reduce the cost and weight of the table. Here is my question, will the 4/4 and 8/4 hickory expand and contract at the same rate?  Can I just biscuit joint the different widths together since the grain is all running in the same direction or do I need to rabbet the 4/4 into a dado in the 8/4? My concern with the rabbet is that I do not want a gap to develop over time.  Can anyone help me understand how I should handle this?  I am pretty new to this, so any advice will be appreciated. Thanks again.

What are the finished dimensions of the table? And what material are you using? In my opinion, true 4/4 is too thin for a table with any decent width or heft.

There are a few different Internet calculators that allow you to enter your material and info and it will tell you how much to allow for movement.

To answer your question, biscuits will work to connect the 8/4 to 4/4 if you must go that route.