shellac mistake?

david j

Newbie here with hopefully some resolution. I just recently fabricated some built in bookcases all out of walnut veneers for a custmer. I will admit that building is my strongpoint and the finishing my weakness. So prior to finding this site and really researching the proper process I went to Rockler to get info and the suggested supplies. I sealed all the work with Bullseye shellac prior to my staining, they never mentioned anthing about thinning it down and I mentioned to them that I was using it as a persealer only with the Arm R Seal they recommended for my top coating. Well the staining process (general finshes oil stain) looks like crap. After spending the day today all over the web to rsolve my issue I ended up here. I watched the wood whisper video on shellac and found out that Im using a 3 cut staight out of the can and maybe thats why my stain isnt adhering properly after slightly sanding the shellac with 180 pad. I quess i should have used the seal coat instead to condition only and Im not sure why the dint recommend that or maybe they just assumed I knew to thin the shellac they gave me. Not looking to blame them in any way, I should have researched more i myselfn lieu of relying on somebody else. Long story short I think I need to sand the stain and shellac off as best as possible without hindering my veneer. Is the shellac penatrated to much to do so and I think Ill end up with extreme blotching because I dont feel Ill be able to get all the stain color out completely without ruining my work. Any suggestions would help and I hope to post more positive results in the future.

Unfortunately, with the world having gone corporate, there is no assurance that your sales associate actually knows anything.  While the guys are Rockler are going to be worlds better than someone at Home Depot or another BORG cube, you still might draw the guy who only finishes his projects with poly...