'Enduro-Var' and clones - 'Garbage' - or not...

cahudson42

Recently Shannon extolled brushing with GF water-based 'Enduro-Var'.  He seems to like the stuff. Others do as well. 

Here is my question:

I am really, really having a problem seeing that the use of any water-based finish is nothing but a ruination of any piece of furniture.

Here is why: In a 'past life' I worked as a chemist-assistant at a research lab for a paint manufacturer in Summit, NJ (hint). Every day, we were trying new formulations of water-based 'latex' paint. The problem was always - always - trying to balance durability against congealing and surface flow out.

This is so because - guess what - oil and water do not mix. We were always trying different formulations of 'surfactants' ('soaps') so the oil would emulsify in the water carrier, vs. the (usually) lack of durability caused by the surfactants that would simply re-dissolve when wet. (brush-stroke test - again and again)

What has changed with 'Enduro-Var'? Is it not an oil emulsified in water with a surfactant? Is not the surfactant water soluable? Will not the resultant 'dry' finish then be water sensitive?

In addition, the MSDS of any water-soluble finish I have looked at usually has a high percentage of acrylic/butyl soft polymers. These are gummy - period. They may try to cross-link them somehow - but they are inherently gummy. Junk for furniture - IMO.

Perhaps a 'more-modern' experienced chemist/woodworker can explain why 'Enduro-Var' and its ilk are equal to solvent-based finishes? 

Until then, I continue to NEVER use a water-based finish on any of my furniture. And when solvent-based finishes are outlawed - I will make my own - from scratch if necessary.

Thoughts??
Chris