Router Newbie

Illini40

I need some guidance - I am a router newbie.

Currently, I have a small palm router that has been great to play around.  Also, I have a larger Craftsman (fixed and plunge base) that I picked up with intentions of putting it in a router table.

My question - is there a way that I can just mount the router to a piece of plywood to use as a simple, temporary router table?  I see everyone using a plate, and I'm just not clear on what that does.  I do not want to invest much time or money at this point in time - I just want to gain some practice with a router mounted on a table top.

If I can just drill a hole in a piece of plywood and mount the router, how do I go about mounting the router?  Buy longer screws and then just screw into the router base and plastic base ring?

Basically...need some guidance on the easiest, cheapest way to try out a router in a table top scenario before building something or buying something else.

You can certainly mount a router to a tabletop without having to mount it to a plate and fiddle with cutting out the plate hole and stuff.  Just figure out what size and thread of screws you need and get some ones long enough to go through the top and into the router base.  Probably obvious, but you'll want to countersink the screw heads into the top to prevent hitting your workpiece.

I would personally remove the plastic base plate from the router base, for nothing other than to gain and extra 1/4" or so of bit height.  Make sure the top you choose is sturdy enough to handle the router hanging from it, I would even suggest bracing the top around the router (on the underside of course) to prevent the top from sagging over time.