New Guy from KC - And a Question about Non-Wood Materials

Greetings all.  Brand-spanking new member from Kansas City, MO here.  I'm not a particularly prolific woodworker.  When I was younger I did a stint as a finish carpenter in new construction to make ends meet.  That basically means I now use a regular pencil instead of a lumber crayon, and I no longer use a waffle-faced 22oz Estwing.  That's as far as I am willing to commit.

I have a project in mind where at least part will be comprised of 3/4" HDPE.  I got to thinking about it and even though it's slightly more expensive, I wondered if the whole project could be done in that material for giggles and grins.  The only part I am concerned about is a "C" shape, 8" deep and across the opening, which will be in compression across the ends - a guitar string will be stretched across the opening as a cutter (think: cheese cutter).  A quick sketchup of what I mean:

post-17943-0-92046500-1432391371_thumb.j

Other similar projects I have seen have used 3/4" Baltic Birch.  I don't know of any source of good BB here in KC (although if someone has one I'm all ears) so doing a prototype in all HDPE may be cost effective as well as interesting.  Obviously (I think) the big question is the strength/rigidity of the HDPE.  Anyone care to make a guess about whether or not it will be a good choice?

While I'm posting, a completely unrelated question:  Can anyone direct me to add a signature?  I went through all the obvious (to me) places and did not see an option.

Thanks for reading.  This looks like a very nice place and I'm glad to have found it.

post-17943-0-92046500-1432391371_thumb.j

Welcome to the forums...a great place for woodworkers!  We are glad you found us.

I don't know much about HDPE, so someone else will have to help with your HDPE questions.