Table Saw on a budget.

zeboim

Hey fellow woodworkers,

I'm just starting out.  I currently have a circular saw, jig saw, a couple saw horses and a dremel with router attachment.  

As you can tell, I've got a long way to go, but you have to start somewhere.  One of the big purchases that is looming over my head is a table saw.  I have no idea what to look for, but I heard someone mention a contractor table saw and looked that up on amazon.  I was floored by the $1-2k price tag.  

I did see some cheaper ones (not under the contractor filter) which were labeled mini and a few that were 7 inch and 10 inch.  Those were going for under $300.  That was much more in MY price range.  I also don't need anything super sophisticated at this point as I don't even know for sure that I'll be any good at wood working.

My question to you fine folks is, are these cheaper versions even worth my time?  Is that going to do the trick for ply, 2x4, etc, hardwood, softwood?  

Obviously the blade is going to make a huge difference, but I'm more worried about the table setup.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate.

A table saw is probably the most important purchases a wood worker will make. In my opinion there are a lot of wood workers that get discouraged with their results and give up on the hobby due to having inferior equipment. If you make an investment in decent equipment and later decide wood workings not your cup of tea, you'll be able to recoup most of your money.  

• Like 1

I started out with a 10" craftsman table saw and their better than average quality drill press (floor model).  I still have the drill press and I still have nightmares about the table saw.  Once I purchased a high quality table saw I realized how much the original table saw worked against me.  If you are serious, save up for a better than average table saw, and start right.