Need help with a finish for humid climate

byegge

Hello everyone, I would like to thank you all in advance for any information you can give me on my project. I'm very new to woodworking and don't have too much experience with finish and with wood movement. I'm building a card box for a friend's wedding and need to know a good way to finish it that will prevent the wood moving too much after it leaves my very hot and humid shop in Florida. The box will live in an air conditioned house after I'm done. I'm using walnut and cherry for my materials and would prefer a natural looking finish. No stain or dyes will be used, but maybe an oil to bring out the warmth of the wood. Thanks again

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

No finish will stop wood movement. If your joinery and design is solid and your wood was properly dried you should be ok. For a natural looking finish an oil would seem to be a good choice. Just make sure the inside of the box can fully cure before you put the lid on or it'll smell like oil for years. If you are time constrained then shellac or lacquer will dry a lot faster.

If you are looking for a finish that will stop, or aignificatly reduce, wood movement, you are out of luck. Such a thing does not exist. You need to build the box to deall with movement, then apply any finish that you think will look good. For small decorative items I like clear lacquer. you can get it in an aerosol can. Just read the instructions to make sure it will dry correctly in your environment. My guess is it will be fine.

Thanks for the replys, my concern stems from an issue I had a few months ago when I got some maple from woodcraft. I took it straight from the store and Re sawed it the same day. The next afternoon it was badly cupped. I know everyone says to let wood acclimate to your shop, but won't it un acclimate once back in a dry humid free environment.