Adirondack Chair - Greene & Greene-ish (Not Marc's)

Denette

I will begin by being transparent and admitting that the elements for the chair's design were picked from different parts of chairs that my client liked from this website:

http://www.celeski.com

Truly breathtaking and bank-busting stuff over there.  

I made it from cypress with red oak dowels, and used all-wood joinery with Titebond 3, finished with an oil-based deck stain (the stain was the client's idea, not mine).  Everywhere that you see a dowel is actual joinery, nothing is ornamental aside from the shaped boards.  This baby could go through a metal detector and not make a beep.  I cut the curves and whatnot from ½" MDF templates I made by looking at my scaled up ketchup model.

Thanks to the fact that I'm a teacher and have the summer off, I'm spending the entire week (starting tomorrow) on a bench version of this project - imagine it a little over twice as wide.  Fun fun!

Here it is, from start to finish!

11401157_10204484482765295_7388052080734

11407166_10204479410118482_9110844117006

11392957_10204479519601219_858072531110311535846_10204480141816774_5596048622123

Clean design and a well executed piece.  Nice job.

I'm with you on the stain...I wish people could learn to embrace the natural beauty of wood.

My only other nitpick would be the flatsawn right stile...it should mirror the straight grain of the left stile.  Otherwise the grain selection and layout is dead on.  You obviously spent time thinking about grain...the flatsawn middle back splat and bottom seat slat, the mirrored arms and front legs...maybe you ran out of stock?

Anyway, only another woodworker (an anal retentive OCD one at that) would complain about it...or even notice it.  All in all, very well done sir.

Nice work, I like the design. Did you drawbore or just peg the tenons?