Working with green wood?

nikbrown

Ok so I'm a flat woodworker and 95% kiln dried stuff.... I have a lathe and enjoy turning the occasional project.

I cut down neighbors large crabapple tree the other day and have a lot of larger logs from it. Should it go into the firewood pile or should I turn some live edge stuff from it?

If I save it for turing... How do I go about prepping these logs? I have no idea about storing them... drying them... etc... Do I turn a bowl green and then dry it? Do I chop it up into turning blanks and paint the ends and dry it? I have no idea about this green wood stuff... any guidance? 

For bowls, there are two main strategies if you have green wood.

The first method is to turn the bowl in two steps. Bill Grumbine’s video shows how to do this. Turn the blank when it’s green down to about 3/4” to 1” thickness, depending on how wide the diameter is, with wider bowls having a thicker wall. Make sure there’s a tenon on the bottom of the bowl. Put the bowl into a paper bag, fold it over, and let it sit a few months or so until its dry. The bowl will go from round to oval during that time, which is why you want the bowl to be relatively thick. Once you go back to the bowl, you’ll turn it a second time, and if things went well, the thickness of the walls of the now oval bowl will allow you to get a thinner round bowl out of it. Finish off the bowl, and you’re done.