Hi im Matt

MattSC

Hi Im Matt I live in Clover, SC. I've been lurking on this forum for about a year now. I grew up watching Roy Underhill on Pbs (in Black and White) also This Old House as well as New Yankee Workshop. I was in awe of Roy and Norm back then. With the knowledge I picked up in the last year that awe is even greater now.

Ive been doing Home Improvements DIY carpentry for about 10 years. One or two years ago I started replacing the plywood subfloor and flooring in the bedroom. I needed a transition at the threshold from 3/4" to 1/8" I went to Lowes and they didnt have one so i built one. *smiles in rememberance* I marked up a piece of 4/4 whitewood lumber and started to chisel. I got too agressive with the chisel and heard the crack noise. I had my brother cut the profile on a tablesaw and hand sanded the rest with 80 grit then 120 grit then 220 grit. I ran my hand across the wood and felt that smoooooth sanded surface and I fell in love with woodworking then. While i researched how to stain and finish wood I would take the transition in hand whenever anyone visited and would say "feel my wood.... Isnt it smooth". I know at 41 years of age at the time I was way too excited. I was sure I sanded all of the "crack" out (from the chisel). It showed up VERY noticable after the stain and finish but besides that I was very proud of myself. I was going to redo it but my wife said it added character lol.

I've been to other woodworking forums but always came back to this one. Besides I really like Marc's youtube videos (which led me here).

In the past year I've been building up my tool chest, researching all I can about Woodworking, and honing my sharpening skills *pun intended.

Welcome Matt, I'm Tom... and I'm and addict.

A few things you'll learn here.

1) Drink the Kool-Aid, it's real tasty

2) There's a lot of information to be learned

3) We're really helpful (sometimes that help may come in the form of sarcasm)

4) Tails First