Slatted Serving Tray

Hello fellow woodworkers!

First time poster, long time TWW follower and novice woodworker.

Over the past few years I have been an avid woodworker "follower". Meaning I liked to read and talk about woodworking projects but never actually got around to doing any woodworking. I feel like I have gained an abundance of knowledge but haven't yet to translate it over to skill. It takes time, money and, most importantly, participation. Regardless of how much knowledge of a subject you have you cannot get any better at it unless you actually participate in it. So, I've geared up my participation a notch and I must say, I am pleasantly surprised with the results so far. But that is not to say that I haven't had a few hick-ups. And ultimately, that is why I am posting today.

As you may have figured out from the topic title, I have recently made a slatted serving tray. The process up until assembly went smoothly. When attempting to put the tray together I had the damnedest time getting the slats lined up from one side of the tray to the other side. Additionally, once  I was able to align both sides some of the slats were wobbly, and would not stay put.