New dog, new tricks... Need help joining huge-ass reclaimed timbers

jhardy

So...  first time caller, long time listener.  Great stuff in this place.  Thanks in advance for the help & wisdom that will be bestowed! ;)

Question for the experts though...  I am making a 13' x 5.5' board (get it.. ha!) room table out of reclaimed 2.25" or so stock.  I've been making smaller pieces for a couple years now, but by no means an expert...  Anyway, I am trying to joint down the back side & one of the edges of these pieces so I can start planing them all to the same thickness, etc. & I am having a hell of a time running these pieces through my 8"x72.5" Grizzly G0656X (with spiral blade) jointer...  I know that the jointer has plenty of power to deal w/ the material (hence the annoying detail), but my skill level is another topic...  I have about 8 or 9 pieces of 13' each that need to be processed, so repeatable is best!

So here are what I THINK my options are...  But I would love to know for sure what the best way is to deal with this...

• Joint by hand (Festool makes what I hear is a kick-ass hand planer)
  • Get extensions for in-feed & out-feed (assuming at full 13' length)
  • 3x people to man-handle, but still no way to guarantee wood is still making proper contact

Also, after jointing, I will need to feed through my dewalt planer, so assuming whatever setup is used for this would be used for that as well.

Thanks guys (& gals) for your help on this!!  I'm hoping your YEARS of experience keeping me from making some very expensive mistakes with my stock. :)

-Jason

Welcome to the forums! 

Long boards indeed! Do you have a track saw?  I've used my track saw to get a great edge on long stock in the past.

Otherwise, add some support, get some help if you needed it and go for it.