Wood cutting planning tool

Woodcutter

Well, my latest accomplishment is a little different...  I became frustrated that my old cutting software was obsolete, so I diverted my attention for awhile.  Read on to hear the story of an old "almost retired guy" who has tried to solve a problem for all of us :P

New website gives woodworkers online access to low-cost pay-as-you-go customized cutting plans.

I'm posting this to tell you about my new website, woodcutplanner.com

I've been a hobbyist woodworker most of my life. I think you will agree, the advent of computers and the internet has really changed the game for professional woodworkers, carpenters and hobbyists.  Since my day-time job revolves around high-tech and programming I started using my home computer early on to increase the quality of my projects. One of the early programs I purchased was a cutting program.  I'm sure it paid for itself in wood savings.

But, I ran into a few problems with my trusty software. When I bought it I paid for a license for the maximum size job I expected to do. I picked one of the smaller sizes, but occasionally I would do a bigger job and found it frustrating that my job size exceeded the license I had bought.  I coped with the problem by breaking my bigger projects into smaller ones, knowing I was messing up the optimal cutting plan.  Then, I encountered the final deal breaker, I decided to switch from a PC to a MAC. I didn't want to run a PC emulator on my MAC so now I had no way to run the software I had bought at all!  I thought to myself, "I'll call up the company I bought the software from and see if they have a MAC version."  But, I couldn't find them. I guess support is no longer available.