How does the weather affect a finish?

zeboim

I'm soon to be putting an oil based finish on a project in my garage.  I live in southern Louisiana so as you can imagine the humidity is pretty high at all times.  We are also currently reaching temperatures at and above 100 degrees.  I would think that the high humidity would cause the finish to cure slower, but the heat would cause it to cure faster and cancel each other out.  I'm by no means an expert on finishes nor weather, so I'm expecting to be way off. 

This will be my first finish job, so any advice would be helpful and appreciated.

In my experience humidity has more effect on cure times than temperature...i.e. high humidity and high temps slow down cure time more than low humidity and low temps...freezing temperatures not withstanding.  Err on the side of safety and give it plenty of time between coats.  And apply thin coats.  Oil takes forever to dry, especially coats subsequent to the first.

In high humidity, it will slow the dry time. So air movement is key and will speed up the dry. Although, heat is a factor, it wont cancel out the humidity effect, sorry.  Make sure the finish is fresh. If not, do a test board to see how things dry. Try to coat your project early in the morning because it sucks dripping sweat all over a fresh finish.:P

-Ace-

• Like 1

Like the above posts. I have my shop climate controlled, however it is a 2 car garage and while I've done my best to seal it as best as possible, it's not perfect. When it's humid and hot outside my shop is 68 degrees with 62-65% relative humidity and my finishes are slow to cure, and I find I'm adding 12-18 additional hours between coats for oils. I put a coat of danish oil on my Roubo last week and yesterday was the first time I was able to use my bench since applying the oil, just because of the humidity.