Garage Shop Layout

johnndeanna

Hello everyone,

I am new to woodworking in general, aside from the normal around the house projects, and am at the point where I would like to be more involved as a hobby. With that said I am looking to create a basic shop in half of my 2-car garage so I can get my tools set up semi-permanently. It is a royal pain to have to dig it all out of my shed in order to work on a project so a shop is in order. I already have several of the larger tools (10" table saw, 12" miter saw, lathe (OLD), 14" bandsaw, and planer. I still would like to get a benchtop sander, jointer and a drill press but have to save up a bit more money to do so. I'd rather put the little extra I have right now into cabinetry and benches.

With that said I have spent a small amount of time on the computer drawing up my garage and placing the major equipment pieces and would like feedback on the positioning of them. I'd like to put the smaller tools on mobile carts to move them around as needed. The miter saw you see in on a DeWalt stand that shows full extension arms. I need to keep the treadmill where it is since my wife likes to look outside while using it. Otherwise, the stairs and refrigerator need to stay where they are, but everything else can move. Outfeed table wil be 4'x6', bench 3'x5', hobby workbench 2'x8'. Table saw will go on a mobile base with an attached router table.

The boat you see does not exist but is a BIG reason I want to get this shop set up. If you could let me know whether this layout would work I'd appreciate it. Being so now to the hobby I really don't know what works layout wise and what doesn't. Any comments are appreciated.

John

Garage%20Shop%20Conversion%20Version%201

Need more information on the boat since you said it doesn't exist. The easy answer is to make sure it doesn't exist in the future, and if it does, find a place other than the garage to store it.