Finding Tear out before finish

Did a quick weekend project and I'm rather frustrated. During my last project I found some tear out from the planer (Dewalt 735), but it wasn't noticeable until I was finishing. During my project this week (Ash) I thought I was extra careful to look at grain direction before I planed and then sanded (I don't want to get into my smoothing plane issues) 120/150/180. Not seeing any signs of tear out I moved on with dyeing and finishing. Well... One of the boards there's clear tear out, see pic below. 

Question: How do you find tear out before you finish?

IMG_1325a.thumb.jpg.96990ab6d77d4c720554

It must just be me but, I don't see the area of concern. Would please point out where you see tear out?

I'm fairly new to wood working (only 10 years so far) and I don't really do any quality work but that board looks normal to me,

Rog

The little light colored flakes.... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I wipe with mineral spirits before finishing.  It will reveal most problems. 

you might also revisit your sanding routine.  Thorough sanding should have taken care of the tear out.   I sand twice with each grit and scribble with pencil all over the baord between each grit so I know I have sanded the entire board evenly. 

Gotcha. I'll try both next time! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk