newbie mistakes - fixable or start over?

Teri

Complete beginner, first project mistakes.  Ok so there were a number of things I did wrong when I started my project the other day. Mostly being that I was trying to get it done quickly and.. well as you can imagine it just went downhill from there.  Now I'm trying to figure out if there's a way to undo what I did or if I just start over (I really don't want to start over).  So I'm making a beer caddy for my husband - not the awesome one I was going to the last time I posted as I just didn't have the right tools for that one, I decided to go with this one https://www.ryobitools.com/nation/projects/3304.  You can probably tell by looking at the pictures what my problem is.  Never mind the fact that I obviously am in desperate need of a square to help me get my lines straight.  So the top part (that the handle will eventually go in... is totally off center.. which means that the beer bottles won't sit properly on one side, thus making it impossibly to add the side rails on that side.  And... as you can see in the 2nd picture... after gluing it.... I nailed it in :(  you would think that I would have looked beforehand.. alas.  This is is turning out to be a really good learning experience (don't get me started on making the cuts with a jigsaw without having any clamps). 

So.. my question is... can I recover from this? Is there a way to fix that middle piece without destroying everything else or did I put the nails in my own coffin (so to speak).  I thought about adding more wood on the bottom and the side (I know it would look pretty bad)... or maybe sawing off part of the handle... but maybe the fix would take longer than just buying some new wood and starting over.   Thoughts?

20150904_065555.jpg

20150904_065607.jpg

20150904_065816.jpg

20150904_065950.jpg

Woodworking can be very frustrating without a good quality basic set of tools.  I can feel your frustration.

Can you let us know what tools you have?