Polycrylic table top scratches off

PK318

I refinished our kitchen table. For the finish I used Minwax water base Polycrylic because I'm pretty new at applying poly finishes and heard this was easy to apply. And it was, went on beautifully. Followed directions to a T. Did 5 coats. Let it cure for 5 days before bringing it up for use. It got bumped on the way up the stairs and looked like it had some paint transfer so I scratched it off but it was the polycrylic and it scratched right off. Within 24 hours it got another scratch and the poly came right off again. 

Did I do something wrong? Is it just a crappy finish? I know it should not just scratch off. The wood doesn't get damaged or scratched, the poly just scratches off. 
Any ideas how to fix this, i.e. can I put a coat of a better finish on top or do I have to start all over, would be GREATLY appreciated. 

It's a huge downer considering how gorgeous the table turned out!

You say it was a refinish.  Waterbornes are prone to adhesion problems on contaminated surfaces.   Strippers usually contain wax/silicone like substances to slow evaporation and keep them thick.  That is my first guess.  If you scraped/sanded the old finish, then you might have left some contamination behind.  And if you stained your table you might have compatiability issues.

Unfortunately I think you need to start all over.   To be safe user a barrier coat of dewaxed shellac before applying your top coat.  

You say it was a refinish.  Waterbornes are prone to adhesion problems on contaminated surfaces.   Strippers usually contain wax/silicone like substances to slow evaporation and keep them thick.  That is my first guess.  If you scraped/sanded the old finish, then you might have left some contamination behind.  And if you stained your table you might have compatiability issues.

Unfortunately I think you need to start all over.   To be safe user a barrier coat of dewaxed shellac before applying your top coat.