Anyone know how to achieve this effect?

zeboim

My wife and I went furniture shopping a few weeks ago and it looks like "distressing" wood is a big trend now.  By distressing, I don't mean beating the crap out of the wood, but rather making it look like the paint is old and worn.  I'm not a fan of this personally, but my wife is in love with it.  Does anyone have any ideas on how to achieve this effect with the paint?  I was thinking about hitting the painted surface with sand paper or steel wool, but my wife had mentioned watering down the paint.  I'll add a photo for reference.

11216822_10153611883323205_7403703497083991084_n.jpg

I saw Charles Neil do similar things using milk paint.  If I remember correctly he put a base coat of one color on then sanded and then went over with second color and wiped it with a rag. This might also be some sort of glazing technique, but I am a complete novice when it comes to finishing, so I could be wrong.

That effect is known as aged/distressed looking patina. Google that, several DIY videos are available. Essentially it's all about applying two coats of paint, each one a different color. Then you  sand the top coat in selected areas, revealing the background coat.

Thank you!  I tried looking for techniques on distressing and all I found were people hitting the wood with chains and poking holes in it and things like that.  I'll look into those search terms.

• Like 1

Look at generalfinishes.com.  They have some instructions on how do that with their glaze effects paint, which is just thinned paint.   Usually you put a darker basecoat, glaze it with a lighter color, wait for it to dry, then strategically rub with steel wool.   After that a clear top coat will help protect your fake distressing :) 

• 1 month later...