Advice on making pocket hole joints

Juliea

Hi everyone, 

I'm a beginner seeking advice.  

I recently got a pocket hole jig and set it up.  I am pretty sure I've done that correctly.  Some of the videos suggested using a nickel to set the depth of the bit, and I've set the collar so that the drill stops just short of the base plate.  I've been practicing and the holes themselves look pretty nice.

However, the joints don't seem strong.  Is it possible I'm not using long enough screws?  Or do I just need to keep practicing?  

Thanks so much for any advice!

I have a kreg model, and the depth of cut is established by the jig (adjustable) and the drill bit collar.  The collar has a scale (built into the body of the jig).  Makes drilling perfect holes a snap.  

Not sure about the model you have, does the manual indicate best practice?

• Like 2

Unfortunately the manual doesn't say a lot.  But yes, this is similar in that you set the depth of the cut by using the collar on the drill bit.

The holes look nice and neat, but I am still not doing something right.  I did order some of the Kreg screws and they seem more substantial than the ones that came with the jig.  Maybe I just need to practice a little more and experiment with different size screws.

I will report back!  

Unfortunately the manual doesn't say a lot.  But yes, this is similar in that you set the depth of the cut by using the collar on the drill bit.

The holes look nice and neat, but I am still not doing something right.  I did order some of the Kreg screws and they seem more substantial than the ones that came with the jig.  Maybe I just need to practice a little more and experiment with different size screws.

I will report back!  

what is going wrong?  Are your joints not lining up?  Screws not biting?

• Like 1

Terrific advice, everyone, thank you all very much!