Coconut Oil for a Finish?

KLG

I'm new to woodworking and it's just a hobby for me, but I recently heard of people using coconut oil as a finish.  Any thoughts or comments on that?  I'm intrigued enough to try it on a scrap piece of wood, but hesitant to use it on a cabinet I made (soft maple) for fear of regret.  Anyone know of pros/cons to using coconut oil??  Even educated guesses are appreciated!  Thanks!

Generally speaking, I try not to use any oil that doesn't cure. Most non curing oils also have a tendency to go rancid over time. Not sure how much of an odor that would create once it absorbs into wood but I do know I don't like the smell of those old bottles of olive oil we occasionally find in the pantry. For furniture, there are very "natural" options that work very well and give you the results you'd expect from a furniture finish. Personally, I'd keep the kitchen oils in the kitchen.

If you want a very natural oil finish, look into pure tung oil or the line of finishes from Tried & True. All natural drying oils that are intended for use on furniture, and not intended for use with popcorn. :)

• Like 1

If you want a non-drying oil, for something like a cutting board or salad bowl, mineral oil is a safe bet. Mixed with beeswax, it makes an excellent renewable, food-safe coating for things that get washed. For a cabinet, I'd follow Marc's advice. He's not called The Wood Whisperer for nuttin'! ?

• Like 1

Flaxseed oil would work though if you were waiting for it to cure it would take forever.

At my summer camp we deep fried wooden spoons that we carved in shortening I think.

For a cabinet I couldn't imagine sweating that level of non toxic finish.  What is your goal?  You could start trying to recreate old finishes but that seems like something that would be several steps from just starting out to making up your own finishes with 200 year old recipes.

• 4 weeks later...