Mandola Build

John Page

A few months ago I resolved to build a mandola/guitar hybrid, and I just finished up the frame for it. Still a lot of progress (all of it…) to go, but I thought I would share the process here. The entire thing will take twice as long as it should because my only shop is the foot of my bed. That means my work space is about 10 sq. ft. and I am limited to hand tools. Although, I do not see that as much a limitation as I do another means of enjoyment from the project. I have no experience whatsoever with building instruments, so this will be a trial by fire so to speak. If anyone here knows what they are doing, feel free to chime in! Any advice would be appreciated :)

Here’s a link to the first part- building the frame.

Because of file size limitation, I’ll only post a few photos here. A more detailed look at the progress is in the link to my blog.

Cheers!

John

27 Frame finished_smaller.jpg

• Like 1

because my only shop is the foot of my bed. That means my work space is about 10 sq. ft. and I am limited to hand tools.

Wow, someone with a smaller shop than me!

I have no experience building an instrument - but It should be fun watching someone else take on the challenge.

Thanks everyone!  

How do you hold lumber to make cuts? Clamp it to the footboard of the bed? That's dedication, my friend!

It's a precarious affair! I have had to lay longer boards across my bed with the free end balanced on the waste bin, cutting between the two while I kneel on the board. Smaller stuff is easier, as I can clamp it in my little machinist's vice and cut from there. If I am lucky, midsized lumber balances on the waste bin itself and I can cut directly inside it, making cleaning up the dust all the easier. 

Cheers!

• 2 weeks later...