Looking for gluing and clamping strategies for my project

tmhudg

Hi All,

I'm a relatively new woodworker and I'd like some advice/suggestions on how best to assemble a bookshelf I'm making (see attached picture).

The top and bottom shelves will be fastened with pocket hole screws while the center shelf will be on adjustable pins. My plan was to assemble this face down on the floor so that I can keep the front side flush during the process. I'm wrestling with the best way to clamp the inner vertical panels while gluing. Obviously, I can get a clamp on the up-side but not on the side that is on the floor. I could turn the whole thing on its top, supported by blocks to get it off the floor and then I could get clamps on both sides of the vertical panels but I feel like this would be unstable.

I can think of various other ways but they all seem to have a drawback here or there so I figured I would ask the collective for advice.

Sewing Table large shelf.jpg

Lay it on its front like you planned...clamp from back, drive your pocket screws...then flip it up and add clamps to the front. If you're quick about it (and/or use a glue with a longer open time), you should have no problem getting it done in time to flip it over and add the front side clamps. 

Gluing large units like that are naturally awkward.  I wouldn't lay it on its face because that's the best way to screw things up...you can't see what's happening at the joints in the front of the case...which is where they're most important visually.  If two parts slip past each other by 1/16" you won't know until it's too late.  Perhaps if you had a large torsion box assembly table, but not the garage floor...not nearly flat enough to do anything but cause you grief.