Cross-Cut sled for Dewalt Table Saw and some Table Saw questions

IowaDad

Hello everyone!!

Since i'm rather new to woodworking I have some questions. First, on my last project, i've noticed that when ripping wood on my table saw, i get burn marks. It is my assumption that the blade is dull and needs to be replaced. How exactly do you know when your blades are dull? Since my current table saw is a Dewalt job site syle, the "table" part of it is very small. I've been trying to find a good way to cross-cut a large piece of wood (for a cutting board). Does anyone have design specs on how to construct a Sled? I've found some online, but they are all mostly for larger saws. Finally, when gluing wood together (end grain cutting board) what do you use to keep the glue from sticking to the pieces of wood that your clamps adhear to? I've tried painters tape with my last board, but it was almost impossible to get them off once the glue dried.

Thanks in advance for your advice it is much appreicated!!

IowaDad

While burning may be a sign of a dull blade, it's more likely that you aren't pushing the wood parallel to the blade. That is probably because the fence isn't aligned with the blade. Look on Marc's video pages for alignment tips and make sure your blade is aligned to your miter slot and your fence is aligned to your miter slot.