Cherry!

JosephThomas

Forgot to mention I also grabbed a wide, but short, slab of walnut, a small stick of indian rosewood, and small board of honduran mahogany.  He had posted a lot of the honduran mahogany on CL last month, but I wasn't able to capitalize, looked like nice stuff...If anyone can confirm/refute the species of the mahogany or rosewood pieces from these photos, I'm all ears.  I was fairly certain of the rosewood based purely on density, but I'm not an expert. I was only able to grab these little boards anyway, so it was just a couple extra bucks if I was wrong :)

The walnut slab, I forgot to measure it...it's probably about 8/4, 10-12" wide, 2' long. The defect goes about halfway thru, I'll probably use it on something that incorporates it:

9oUwniL.png

QTpWuT6.png

The Rosewood stick, I love this. I'll either try to make some veneer out of this, or cut it into thin strips to use in conjunction with some veneer.

va8SgLM.png

Wn1yNRH.png

IwXaCtu.png

The honduran mahogany:

bdcevhA.png

X7fJFSZ.png

• Like 1

Yeah it looks like Honduran to me.  The rosewood I can't say for sure because I just don't have enough experience with all the different species.  Could be East Indian or it could be something else.  I'd bet my life the guy you bought it from didn't know either...he's just telling you what he was told...from another guy who had no idea and was told by someone else who had no idea...and on and on.  Bottom line...who cares...if you like the board, build something with it and be happy.

The cherry looks like some beautiful stuff and some meh stuff.  If you got a good price it's a nice little score.

• Like 1