Drying holly

Bombarde16

Anyone have any experience with it? I read somewhere that careless drying (whatever that means?) can have deleterious effects on the final color. ce71743cece24afdbb050edfdcffe7da.jpg A friend had some logs outdoors waiting to be processed into firewood. You can see it's already spalting from sitting on the ground. Just curious to see if there's anything special I should do when I put this aside to dry. 9c5f94e1b0565532b322ece77ebaaef0.jpg Overall, feels quite soft and soggy. Fibers appear to tear badly (both with a gouge and with a scraper) in the wet. I'll be curious to see what it does when dry. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have used the plastic bag with dry sawdust method on a bowl ( controls the dry) . But Im no expert on this turning "stuff," seems to me though, as the wood dries color will change, right????

-Ace- 

Nice hunk of wood! 

I think what your reading is to keep the holly white as possible? I know that is why they harvest some woods in the fall and winter time.

Edited by AceHoleInOne

Yeah I've heard the same as Ace.  I believe holly (allegedly) can turn a bluish color if it's harvested at the wrong time.  I don't think it has anything to do with the drying process.  Rather, the amount of sap in the wood due to the time of year it was cut down.  Or something like that.

Anyway, your pieces are already cut...and spalted...I'd go ahead and do what you're gonna do.  Looks pretty cool actually.  No good for stringing but it'll make a neat bowl.

I read that holly should be harvested in the winter and kept clean, don't let it touch the dirt to get clean white wood.

I cut a huge holly bush down in the spring and left the trunk laying on the ground. When I decided to try drying some pieces they were Spalted and had a gray tint to them.