Shopsmith?

miranthis

A buddy at work and I were talking and he mentioned that his dad, who had a stroke, had a shopsmith in the basement and he wanted my help draggin it to the curb.  I mentioned I was a woodworker and he asked me to come over and take a look and he would sell it to me.  What should I be looking for?  No idea on details at this point.  Is there a good reference for prices etc?

Jeff in KC

He wanted your help to drag it to the curb then decided he might sell it to you? What a friend..

depending on what you plan on doing, I would first very seriously research if you even WANT a shop smith..  They are severely underpowered, parts are getting quite hard to find and the later built ones have a tendency to crack. They are also very much in the world of jack of all trades, master of absolutely nothing. 

I was given a shop smith from the early 70's years ago, after going through it all and the hundreds of things for it, it was clearly not for me.  The beds are tiny, it's very hard to have any real workflow with having to break it down to add something else. I ended up giving it away to a guy from CL for free.  Actually, I think I requested a 12er of bud light... That's what it was worth to ME, your situation may vary.

• Like 2

Never used one, but I know some guys love them. They look like they completely suck. How big is that table saw table? 10" by 12"? They seem gimmicky to me. They are like those 15 in 1 fishing tools people like to get me every year for Christmas. Theres a reason I have a $150 pair of abels and not some dumb scale, pliars, clippers, toothpick, measuring tape, hook sharpener, and flashlight combo tool.

Might be worth it to help him drag it out for free, and then part it out to the poor mopes that still have them. Then, go buy real tools with your earnings.

• Like 1