ARS not settling well

MartinN

Hi Everyone 

New to wood working and thus this is my first time using Arm R Seal.  I have had a hard time getting it to go on evenly (I had a much easier time with Watco brush on lacquer which I used on  the last project). 

Part of this issue might be the Wisconsin weather,  so after feed back to my previous thread I'm going go to this  it a little (10 %) and bring it inside to dry after applying it in the garage. 

I've attached a photo of the defects I'm getting are these brush strokes or something else?

20151128_133123-1200x2133-1024x1820.jpg

Not sure if you overworked the finish, but you've got far too much on there...

Brushing lacquer is a brush on evenly, let self level and dry -- no wipe-off...

ARS is an apply thin, let sit a few minutes, then wipe-off all remaining. The result should be a very thin coating... No drips, no pooling, no layer of finish, etc.  You know how you clean your kitchen counter top with a rag? It's like that... Just a damp rag to apply the soap/water, then wipe dry... The 'dry' isn't really dry. If you look at it in a raking light, it'll still be a bit wet until it evaporates leaving a dry counter top... It's like that with wiping varnish... As you gain experience, you can leave a bit more on... But there is a critical limit where it won't dry properly -- which you have crossed in the above photo...

With ARS, thick is bad...

It's a wipe-back process -- thin coats are the name of the game... Apply wet, let sit a few, wipe-back...

As you gain experience, you can leave a bit more on... But it's a fine line between 'a bit' and 'screwed-the-pooch'. Let's just say you found the latter...

From here, let it cure (being that thick, it'll take a couple of days) and sand it back -- you don't have to go to wood, just sand the high spots until the coating is even... Then apply a thin coat and wipe back... You're lucky -- it's a flat surface... Had this being a molding...