Coffee table restoration questions

poweribo

Note: I'm complete newbie on furniture restoration and I've just decided I'm picking this up as a hobby this year so pls bear with me while I bombard you guys with questions. 

Bought this table at a thrift shop as my first restoration project. The table has no loose legs and feels very sturdy and it is one heavy coffee table. I feel I can dance on top of this table without damaging it.

At closer inspection, it looked like more complicated that I've expected. My first concern is, should I remove all the nuts, bolts and brackets before doing any work?
Those things doesnt look easy to remove:

l2orRON.jpg

This is the top view. These circular metals is few millimeter higher than the wood surface. Is this like large nail head or something?.
Also can anyone pls tell me what kind of wood is this?

t6k7xdX.jpg

Corner view. Missing nails

uO6QUnG.jpg

Loose bracket/nails. Should I replace this nail with a screw instead? I feel this bracket is just decorative (going for that rustic look I guess) and doesnt really add any substantial support. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

dLg7Lzr.jpg

Under side. Nuts and Washers? No joints? so crude!

EfRdHFn.jpg

Cracks

RRzgpUs.jpg

More cracks. About these irregular stains: Is this because there was an original finish that was stripped before?

TtsJjN5.jpg

My Plan:

I want to retain the natural look and bring out the beautiful wood grain patterns so here's what I have in mind:

* If possible, remove metal parts and dip it into phosphoric acid to remove rust. Maybe paint it with black paint.
* Sand the surface a little bit to remove the dirt, grime, scratches and etc. (those metal stubs on top is gonna be on the way)
* Fill the cracks with clear epoxy (which one, I dont have any idea yet)
* Finish with a wood polish like this: http://www.howardproducts.com/prod-feed-n-wax.php (wax + oil)
* Put back metal parts

I welcome a better plan or any kind of suggestion.