Decisions, Decisions - Vise Question

Robby W

I am thinking about building a new top for my workbench. The vertical grain Douglas Fir top I built years ago has done yeoman's duty for me, but I want to upgrade the vises and I want to do it before I retire and money becomes harder to come by. My current top is a 2 3/4" thick slab and has a pair of vises on the front. The main face vise is a 10" Record vise which I really like. I love that I can back the vise out a bit using the screw, or I can use the release lever with my index finger for larger moves. I don't like quick release vises that release with a 1/4 turn. You can't back them out that little bit to get the next piece in. The second vise is a Wilton that has that defect, which is why it was demoted to the second vise. I mounted it there so my grandson could play while I was working on the other end. And that brings me to my dilemma.

I am a hybrid woodworker, using both power and hand tools. I don't dovetail with a jig anymore, but any other joint is usually made with a combination of machine and hand tools. I have been thinking about replacing the front vise with a twin screw vise, such as the Lie-Nielsen twin screw vise, but I really like my Record vise for general use. The twin screw will definitely be best for dovetailing and joinery work, but I am not sure I like it for an everyday vise. I will be attending the Lie-Nielsen tool event at Palomar College this Saturday morning and hope to try out their vises.

I was on the Tools for Working Wood website the other night and stumbled on their Moxon vise kit and a light came on. I could keep my Record vise and use a Moxon for joinery work. One big advance that I see is it would be higher up and help my poor, aching back.

So that defines  my choices: Twin screw vise or Record and Moxon combination? I am hoping to hear your experiences, pro and con, for either setup.

(How come I keep typing vice instead of vise.......?!)

1 hour ago, Robby W said: