Gel-stain and Polyurethane issues on pine.

arbiterr

Hi everyone, I am very new to wood working. Have been researching videos and articles a lot and finally got started with my first project. I am using a dark gel stain on pine wood and last night worked on some test stains on a plank that will be hidden. The stain was fine yesterday, I applied it and wiped it off after 5 minutes. the colour was rich, no blotching so I left it overnight. Next morning, I tried to apply a coat of polyurethane with a foam brush and noticed that it was picking off the stain colour..  i was left with a much lighter and botchy stain. I do not understand what I could be doing wrong? is that normal? Should I have waited longer for the gel stain to dry? 

My process. 

1. sanded with 80->120->200

2. Applied pre stain and let it dry for a few mins

3. Applied gel stain, wiped it off after 5 minutes. let it dry overnight

4. Applied a coat of polyurethane

Attached pictures:

Pic 1:- Pre-stain + gel stain (I made a new stain sample today to test it out again, but pic is just to use as a guide for colour and application the way last night's sample looked.) the wet mark there is just a small application of poly to check for tomorrow

Pic 2:- The remnants of last night's stain after I used some polyurethane on it this morning

Pic 3:- The product containers, just as a reference. 

Am I using the wrong finish? I was expecting polyurethane to be a waxy coat, or at least something that wouldn't interfere with the stain applied.. but it behaved somewhat like paint thinner. Any suggestions or tips?

Thanks.

-Rob

photo 1.JPG

photo 2.JPG

photo 3.JPG

Thanks for the reply wtnhighlander. How long would you consider gel stain might take to fully dry off by? ill be testing the drying time on this piece now for a couple days.