Which lunchbox planer to buy?

Gunther15

I am fairly new to woodworking and am looking to buy my first thickness planer. I am not looking to spend and arm and a leg. I have found a few options in my price range and was hoping that some people out there would have some words of advice on what to look for since I don't have any experience in this area.

The planers that I am looking at are:

Grizzly G0790

Grizzly G0505

Rigid R4331

Delta 22-555

I have a 14 in grizzly bandsaw and had great experiences with their products.

I have noticed that some of these vary when it comes to number of knives either 2-3. Is this something that I should be considering as well?

Thank you all in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Take a look at this thread... Personally I would wait, save little more, and get the 735x, but can understand the budget concerns and the immediate need.  At $599 the dewalt comes with extra knives and in-feed out-feed tables.  Sure it's $200 over budget but it's a "one and done" situation.  I will likely never buy another planer.  Perhaps the only thing I might do down the road is update mine with a Byrd Shellix cutterhead.

I don't own a planer yet, but in that price range I think the Dewalt DW734 gets the best reviews. It's not much more than others you're looking at, and one I've been contemplating as well. Or, jump to the DW735, which is overwhelmingly favored as the best lunchbox planer. 

• Like 1

I have a DW735 and don't know what i did with out it. Yes it's more expensive and yes it is a bit bigger but from the reviews and the research I've done it's loved by everyone that uses it. I don't know people's opinions on delta but the local tool shop won't supple them because they are too difficult to get parts for and are still skeptical on them. Dewalt goes on sale i picked up my DW 735x from acme tool for $500 i'm sure other retailers do the same.