Help with subtle hinges/closures/attachments

Dinkum

Hello all.

I'm a full time woodworker on large projects, and also a hobbiest crafter-prop maker.

I kind of made that mistake of having a friend ask me to aid in a project. 'You have the crafting and building skills, could you help make this?'.

And you know how that goes, 'Gee, sure, it's just friend work...'

Anyhow, my friend is wanting a portable easel, but more of like a book;

it folds shut during transport, book style, so we figured making the panels out of a plywood or a plastic board (like the plastic cutting boards).

When to be used as an easel, it would hinge open like a book and provide a large flat surface. My friend came up with the notion though;

could this hinges somehow? And at the back/spine, could there be latches to lock it open?

He even pointed out luggage latches/butterfly latches that turn and tighten. Good idea on paper, of course, even the smallest luggage type latches are too cumbersome.

Also, the unforeseen problem is that I'm not sure of this is going to be two large pieces of aforementioned wood/plastic , or if I need a third strip of material, a spine, to make it work.

Additionally, the issue crops up of how many latches? His initial idea was for a 'bottom and top one'........ but if they are weak latches, you probably need a balance of 2 on both the left and right for an equal pull.

Does there exist a small-not-so-clunky latch that may pull both sides at once?

I've been suggested maybe to hinge the inside, maybe. But really, you'd want a nice flat surface to rest sketch book and paper, naturally, so a piano hinge might give too much of a bump.

I looked at butler hinges, but the ones I got from Rockler felt rather hard to open, suitable for larger table-type projects, not a lightweight out-for-a-pleasant-nature-sketch type easel.