Poly vs shellac.

Chestnut

I've never used shellac by itself, so take my thought with a grain of salt but I'd say poly.  But if it were me, and since a picture frame isn't gonna take any abuse or anything, could use danish oil since it pops grain pretty good.  Or use danish oil first then put something over it once it cures.  Just my thought but I'm no expert that's for sure haha.

Of course, there is a wide range of tones available, if you use flake shellac. That might influence your decision. A picture frame isn't likely to get a lot of abuse, so any finish should offer enough protection.

In my opinion, a blonde shellac will give a golden overtone, but poly may increase the contrast between the early & late grain, more than shellac. My only experience using oil over white oak was BLO, which darkened the wood a LOT. I would expect a similar result from danish oil.

I haven't tried Arm-R Seal and I'm not discounting it i just don't have a way to get it where I'm at. I can't justify double what i spend now for regular poly. I tried danish oil on the wood that i was working with and it just didn't make things pop as well  as i was hoping. Ended up doing a couple coats of shellac.

Shellac on its own does not make figure pop.  You can add dye and sand back but that's something entirely different.  Also, ray fleck doesn't really "pop" the same way as other types of figure such as curl or quilt.

Shellac is used as a sealer to prevent blotching...and blotching is figure.  Oil-based finishes are going to enhance figure much better than straight shellac because they soak deeper into the grain and provide much greater chatoyance.

Finally, the traditional finish for QSWO is ammonia fuming, even though that process doesn't necessarily "pop" the ray fleck either.  Anything else is a distant second best.  That said, I like ARS on QSWO.  But I like ARS on just about anything.

• Like 1

I was the photographer, standing on top of Nevada falls in Yosemite.