Which Carbide Blade

Tom Cancelleri

Bandsaw Blade  

10 members have voted

1. 1. Which carbide tipped blade would you get?

• Laguna Resaw King
    • Timberwolf Carbide
    • Lenox Trimaster
    • Lenox Woodmaster
    • Paying 80-100 bucks for bi metal, and forget carbide it's just not worth it

There's a few options out there to consider for my MM20 bandsaw. While yes I know I'm not a production shop and I'm not running thousands of linear feet a week through my saw, I would like to weigh my options. 

The saw uses a 168" blade, here are my options

Laguna Resaw King 2-3 TPI - $299

Lenox Trimaster 2-3 TPI - $229

Lenox Woodmaster CT 1.3 TPI - $149

Timberwolf Carbide 2-3 TPI - $238

The RK can be resharpened 4-5 times, Timberwolf (Suffolk Machinery) will resharpen a Trimaster or a Timberwolf carbide blade for about the cost as the Resaw King probably 2-3 times  at most. The woodmaster has a weird alternating tip geometry that makes resharpening it something nobody wants to do. 

I voted cheap and i thought I'd explain it's becomes I'm a cheapskate and on my 14" i plan on buying a dermal and just hand sharpening it when i need. For how little i plan on doing any large resawing for me it's not worth it. Though I'll run a 93" blade which would probably be easier to resharpen myself. Again I'm cheap.

Hmm.. that is an interesting question.  Given that you got a Slamming deal on the saw, and that I assume it will be your primary resaw machine,  I would go carbide.  Which one is all you,  but the increased sharp life  would be the selling point for me.  I don't like machine down time and would proabably have a backup non carbon blade for when you are out for sharpening or sawing questionable stock you may not want to put carbide through.