Shaper advice

twodeuce

I have a tricked out router table. Cast iron top, Incra fence, PC 3 hp router...but I have never used a shaper before.

I have used the RT for over 5 years, but never been completely satisfied with the cuts I get on moulding and profiles. I use sharp whiteside or infinity router bits 1/2 shank almost always.

My point is, I feel I have maxed out what I can do with the router table for profiles and such (obviously over the top cuts are no go with shaper).

So 2 part question,

1. Do shaper cutters with 3/4" bores give a noticeably better surface than router bits?

2. I'm not opposed to going bigger to 1 1/4" bore...is the difference significant over 3/4"? If not, I could save $ and stay with the smaller shaper.

I appreciate opinions on the matter.

If I do go with a shaper, I will keep my router table.

Also weighing between the grizzly 3 hp and their 5 hp models (with the predominantly 3/4 and 11/4 bore respectively). Would also welcome opinions on those machines as well (from current or former owners). I know many aren't grizzly fans, but I am.

Thanks in advance!

3/4" is the minimum realistic shaper spindle. They make 1/2" ones but they are not any better than a router table.  A lot of the cut quaility comes from using a power feeder and careful set up. 

You can get better results from your router table if you don't take off too much material in one pass. Or you can make one very light final pass to clean up the surface to the exact final dimension you desire.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, wdwerker said:

3/4" is the minimum realistic shaper spindle. They make 1/2" ones but they are not any better than a router table.  A lot of the cut quaility comes from using a power feeder and careful set up. 

You can get better results from your router table if you don't take off too much material in one pass. Or you can make one very light final pass to clean up the surface to the exact final dimension you desire.