Staining problem! Help??

shortguy617

Hi All, thanks to anyone who can give me some input here...I rent my apartment and my wife dragged a piece of furniture with a protruding screw across about three feet of hardwood floor. Left a 3mm scratch or so  (pretty bad...and the landlord is gonna hit me on this one for sure...). I have no real experience with this type of repair, so, I went online, and decided to sand down the scratch, which worked and it is hardly visible anymore (see image), but that meant I now had some serious discoloration because i sanded off the finish and/or stain (not sure what is really on the floor..) I then went to home depot and bought a handful of stains (http://www.homedepot.com/p/Varathane-1-qt-3X-Golden-Pecan-Premium-Wood-Stain-266260/203332269) that really seemed to match the hardwood floor color, but, for some reason, even after staining it just looks like garbage! You can see from the pic below that there is an obvious huge discoloration across about 8 of the planks, and you can also see the outskirts/border of where I stopped sanding... I recognize that the planks vary in color and that I need to vary the stain color depending on the plank, but even the few planks which perfectly match my stain(s), are coming out way different than they should be based on the color of the stain...does anyone know what to do here/what I am doing wrong? Please go easy on me here haha, I know I messed up...

407bff35-07bb-4253-ba06-a26184ff682e.thu

It doesn't look that bad, could be a whole lot worse ! Usually you need to sand a larger area to make the depth nessasary to remove the scratch a very gradual slope.