Classic Workbench Build

jmaichel

The time has finally come for me to build a workbench. I have been putting this off for a few years now and have been getting by just fine with a joinery bench. A couple of my upcoming projects are just going to be a little hard to accomplish with just the joinery bench and an crappy assembly table (3/4" MDF on a centipede saw horse). I am going to build a Classic Workbench modeled after the one Jameel is building on the Benchcrafted Blog. BC is eventually going to release plans for this bench but I did not want wait that long and just to decided to build one without their plans. I did ask him a few questions about the bench and re-watched certain videos from the TWW guild Roubo build to help with some of the details while working on the plan. The bench will feature one vice, BC Classic Vise with Crisscross hardware. I will eventually build a full size Roubo but not until I get back stateside and get settled in a house I know that I will in for a while. The classic workbench will become a nice second workbench but that could be anywhere from 2-5 years.

I live in HI and will eventually be moving back stateside so lumber selection, size, and weight are all factors in the design of this bench. Lumber selection out here is not the best. Forget about Soft Maple, Ash, Beech or even Pine in 8/4 material. I Have found Rock Maple but it's more than I want to pay per BF and heavy! Like I said this bench has to be moved back stateside, so a 400 pound bench is just not in the cards for me. Not to mention I have no desire to work Hard Maple with hand tools. My best option is Poplar at $2.85 BF and a final weight that will hopefully be right around 250 pounds. I know I am going to get some flak for using poplar for a workbench but it's what makes the most sense for this build. I am well aware of how soft it is and that the top will probably get beat to hell but I am okay with that.