Greetings from Redmond, WA (for now)

Robert Morse

I just realized I joined over a year ago, and missed the "introduce yourself" post.  Sorry about that. :)  I'm lucky enough to have a somewhat patient wife, 2 adorable kids (4 and 6) and an Irish Terrier who I love but goes looking for trouble.  My days are spent behind a keyboard, I'm a Program Manager/Business Analyst and my work centers around helping people demonstrate business value and being concise with data.

I've spent the last 6 years doing renovations on a 40 year old house that was a rental for 30 years or so... in short, we've had lots of projects.  New deck, replaced all the doors, re-cased several windows, new baseboards everywhere, tile in several rooms... The final few projects really stoked my interest in woodworking: I ended up building a custom shelf/ledge around my rec room foundation wall, and decided I wanted to invest some time in a new hobby. Still learning, not a lot of expertise in any one thing, but I've got a list of Honey-do's a mile long, and a strong desire to see it thru. Recent non-house projects include some decorative mirror frames (cherry for one, curly maple for another), a bunk bed for my daughter, a Big Green Egg table for one of my work buddies, and custom doors for the storage space under the stairs... nothing of astounding quality, but I'm having fun.

We recently sold the current home, and we're moving to a new place about 15 minutes north of here in early May. Part of the reason for the move was to allow me to build a new shop, so eventually, I'll start a thread on that... I really enjoyed following along on a few of the shop builds here, so I'll try to allow others to do the same.  Once the new shop's built, I'll have a list waiting of things to work on in the new house as well - I'm looking forward to contributing to the project journals too.