Workability

collinb

I was thinking about a guy's post a month or so ago, how he started making dovetails beginning with soft wood instead of hard.  From what I've modestly experienced, it would seem that working with a harder wood -- like a maple -- might be easier for learning on than a softer wood -- like pine, poplar, or cottonwood. :-)
(Does anyone work cottonwood? Just threw that one in.)

That said, it was noted the other day that zebra wood is apparently difficult to joint.  How does one smooth its face?  Sander + scraper?  I saw a chunk of it over at WoodWerks the other day and though it might make a really beautiful camera piece.

• Like 1

I have some experience with zebrawood, but only in small projects. That being said, I haven't found it to be difficult to work with. Doesn't seem to be too tough on tools, sands nicely. In my limited experience I've found it to be pretty porous, which can be a little challenging when it comes to finishing. The only real negative for me so far has been the smell. It is not an overpowering bad smell, just more of a faint smell of......urine? Or maybe it's just me.

Just me being me, I think poplar is a good choice. Soft woods such as pine, the fibers tend to be coarse and not cut like a hardwood. But I did practice on pine shelf boards. One you get your brain wrapped around hand cutting DT's on crap pine and can cut pine DT's proficiently. You'll then appreciate the crisp DT's in hardwoods. 

I say start with pine make a few, then move on to poplar, then onto project wood.

-Ace-

Zebrawood is absolutely difficult to work with, unless you're comparing it to wenge.  Zebrawood has every negative thing going for it that it can...it's dense, it's brittle, and it has reversing, interlocked grain.  It IS tough on blades and it WILL tear out readily.  But it does sand and polish to a nice shine and it can totally be worth the trouble, depending on the look you're going for.