Walnut Nightstands

minorhero

Hello folks,

A new project dawns. My wife and I are in desperate need of a pair of nightstands, yep this build is a twofer. The wood of choice is walnut though it may end up with some other woods being used along the way either for accents or to save money. So for instance I will almost certainly make my drawers out of a cheaper wood and as of right now the plan is to use plywood for the drawer bottoms.

I really am very open to any advice folks would like to give about how to build these guys. I have never done floating panels before, and I have never made drawers before, and I have never done dovetails before. All of which are going to be in this build. For the dovetails I have a portercable jig that I plan to use. For the rest... well I have taken a guess at it and we will see how it goes.

My sketchup model can be found here.

Here are some pictures I made of my model:

Nightstand.png

Nightstand2.png

Nightstand3.png

Nightstand4.png

Nightstand5.png

• Like 1

If you don't own Marc's Shaker end table series in the Guild, you might wanna start there.  Obviously the designs are not exactly the same but you'll get ideas and techniques to apply to your own project.  Drawers, dovetails, and I believe raised panels (drawer bottom) are all addressed.  Good luck and have fun!

• Like 1

8 hours ago, wtnhighlander said:

Two things in your model raise questions for me. How are you joining the bottom shelf to the legs, and what's up with the drawer supports inside the panels?

Both appear to present wood movement challenges, unless I am completely misinterpreting the model.