Outdoor Table

Dknapp34

First project journal here.  I keep forgetting to take pics as I work, so I've never done one before, but I'm going to make a real effort to remember this time around.

Wife said she wanted to buy a new table for our back patio.  So I explained to her that it would be crazy to buy one, when I could built one for three times the cost and probably not be finished until next winter.  For some reason, she agreed to let me do it.  I usually just do a rough drawing on paper and then start cutting, figuring that it will all come together in the end.  For this one, I figured I would try and do a little more planning, so I did a sketch up model first.

Here's a view of the top:

Outdoor table Top View.jpg

Here's a side view of the base:

Outdoor table side view.jpg

At first, I was planning on using ipe, but after doing the sketch up and figuring out how much material I would need, I got some a little bit of sticker shock.  Also, my wife wanted something light that we could move it around if we needed to, and ipe weighs a ton so it wasn't really a good option.  So with cheap and light being the criteria, I opted for cypress.  I'm sure it will get a little dented up because it's pretty soft, but so be it.  

The top will be 5/4 and the base is laminated 8/4.  Dimensions are 72"L x 37 1/4" W.  All of the joinery will be M&T, including all of the narrow slats.  I believe there will be somewhere in the neighborhood of 126 M&Ts, so my router and dado stack will be getting a work out.  One goal of this project is to master cutting M&Ts, so I figure by the end I will have that one checked off the list (unless I give up and buy a domino halfway though...).  The stretcher will be connected to the legs with tusk tenons. I've always wanted to make something with one, but I haven't had the opportunity before.  

It's been a couple of months since I've had a big project, so I'm really excited about this one.